DIY Thanksgiving Tea Towels

Thanksgiving, to me, is like a pre-Christmas. Except it’s even better, because I don’t have to spend a lot of money on presents and everyone is talking about food. It’s basically the most wonderful time of the year.

Full Disclosure: I haven’t been sewing for very long at all. In fact, I have only had my sewing machine for about two months, and during that time, I’ve only used it on a couple of major projects. I am not an expert in any way, shape, or form.

But I know when things are cute as fuck.

I wanted to make something for my Thanksgiving table that would be simple and could show off some of my Fall-themed fabric. I figured that these tea towels would be the perfect thing to do just that, plus they are crazy simple to make. And when everyone tells you how adorable they are, you can smugly say that you made them.

final-towel-4-edited

Materials

Fabric

Measuring Tape

Scissors

Pen

Iron

Sewing Pins

Directions

First off, iron your fabric so that it lays completely flat. Cut out a 6-by-6-inch square of fabric (or 8-by-12 if you want a hand towel). Take your pen and mark a line that is 3/8 inches from the edge of the fabric (make sure to mark on the bottom of the fabric).

Fold along the 3/8 inch mark and iron to lay it flat. Pin the fold down, then repeat along all four sides. Cut off any excess folded fabric hanging out at the corners. If you don’t like the look of the raw edge underneath the towel, then fold again along the raw edge, iron, and pin down.

Sew along the edges, then iron again.

Make some fabulous hot chocolate and take a photo.

img_3734

img_3732

img_3738

final-towel-6-edited

What I like about the smaller size is that it’s perfect to act as a spoon rest rather than a full-on napkin, but I know most people want the full-sized one to wipe their hands on and whatnot. My suggestion is to get an absorbent fabric that will wash well, as you will likely be washing it a lot if it is going to be near food.

Are you making anything for your Thanksgiving table? Leave a picture or a link in the comments below, I love to see people’s DIY holiday projects.

I hope that all of your Thanksgiving meal plans are coming to fruition. Make sure you always test your recipes before the big day, that way you can catch any mistakes or pitfalls.

Until next time, keep your iron hot and your fabric flat.

2 comments on “DIY Thanksgiving Tea Towels

Leave a Reply

